RSS

One-Way ticket to Africa

20 Jul

This is not the blog I had hoped to be posting at this time. I wish I were telling everyone that we had booked our flights and were heading to Africa to bring Bethany and Katie home. I have dreampt of writing that blog but cannot write it today. I do hope that blog will follow in the next few weeks. We serve a God who has promised to not leave the orphans as they are but he has promised to come to them. I have been clinging to this promise as my heart aches for my daughters who are hurting on the other side of the world.  I have been praying as we wait for our girls that the Lord would “come to them” and comfort them in a way that I deeply want to. I keep reminding myself that as much as I love these two precious girls, my God loves them even more. After many weeks of prayer Derek and I have decided that I should go over to Addis Ababa to be with our children. I will make myself available to our agency to try and get the necessary paperwork finished up but mostly I will be there to spend time with the girls. I have purchased a one-way flight in hopes that Derek will be able to join me in a week or two to bring them home. I am staying with an American lady (who used ot run the girls orphange and she happens to be from TN)and 10 Ethiopian children who are living with her right now. I do not know how long I will be gone so your prayers for my family who will remain here without a wife and mother are greatly appreciated. I ask that you will pray for me as well as I will be away from Derek and the kids and in a country that is emotionally draining. I also ask that you pray for my health as it hard to eat “good” foods there since fruit has been cleaned in their contaminated water and I don’t think they know what Whole grains are. I HOPE to be able to keep you updated on this blog and over facebook while I am there. I leave Tuesday morning and will arrive Wednesday night. Thank you in advance for your continued prayers for our family and our paperwork. Kristy

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in the journey

 

4 responses to “One-Way ticket to Africa

  1. april baggott

    July 20, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Kristy – As you long to write the blog you were talking about we are longing to read it! I am very excited to hear you are headed this way. I know you will enjoy seeing your girls. hummmmm maybe I should find out what an airline ticket would be from here to there. : ) Its just a couple hour flight.
    Just so you know…. our family is healthier here than in the states! We eat healthier and there seems to be less sicknesses (germs) going around.
    Have fun and keep us posted on your adventure!
    April Baggott

     
  2. Amy

    July 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Praying for you all!

     
  3. Heather Seabrooks

    July 20, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Praying for you all!!

     
  4. Carolyn

    July 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Our prayers are with you Kristy! And, I am practicing adoptions now, in Texas. Let us know how we can help you and Derek.

     

Leave a Reply

 
